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IOWA COLLEGE STUDENT AID COMMISSION 
 

Administrative Rules 
August 2015 

 
 
RECOMMENDED ACTIONS: 
 
Move to propose amendments to Administrative Rules Chapter 21 – Postsecondary 
Registration. 
 
The proposed amendments to Chapter 21 provide changes necessary to implement policies 
schools must follow to participate in an interstate reciprocity agreement under which the 
Commission is the state portal agency.  The amendments will allow Iowa schools to begin 
applying to participate in the Midwest Higher Education Commission’s (MHEC) State 
Authorization Reciprocity Agreement (SARA). 
 
After several discussions prompted by a question from the Governor’s Office, the Commission’s 
Legislative Committee is recommending that the Commission revised the rule it passed during 
the July 17 meeting dealing with Iowa Administrative Code Chapter 21 – Approval of 
Postsecondary Schools.  The revision affects the fees to be paid for schools registering in Iowa 
and would assist in defraying the Commission’s costs associated with the postsecondary 
registration process. 
 
Proposed Revised Fee Language 

283—21.9(261B) 283—21.13(261B, 261G)  Initial rRegistration application fees and subsequent 
annual fees. 
 21.9(1) 21.13(1)  A school that applies for initial registration in Iowa as required under Iowa Code 261B 
on or after January 1, 2016, shall remit to the commission a $1,000 an initial registration application fee 
payable to the state of Iowa commission in the amount of $5,000. This fee is nonrefundable regardless of 
the commission’s decision with respect to the school’s eligibility for registration in Iowa. The commission 
assesses this fee at the time the school initially applies for registration and at the time of each subsequent 
registration renewal application. A school that fails to pay the initial registration application fee shall be 
denied registration consideration.  A school that voluntarily applies for registration to participate in the 
commission-approved interstate reciprocity agreement is exempt from the initial registration fee. 
 21.9(2) 21.13(2)  A school that is approved for registration in Iowa shall remit to the commission a $1,000 
registration an annual fee payable to the state of Iowa commission in the amount of $5,000 due on July 15 
of each year.  If a school’s registration terminates during a year, the school shall pay the annual fee to the 
commission if the school’s registration is valid as of July 15 of that year.  The commission assesses the 
$1,000 registration fee at the time the commission initially approves the school’s registration and at the 
time the commission approves each subsequent registration renewal.  The annual fee is nonrefundable. 
 21.13(3) A school that applies for, and is approved to participate in, the commission-approved  interstate 
reciprocity agreement shall remit to the interstate reciprocity agreement administrator any registration fees 
required by that administrator. 
 21.9(3) A school that makes substantive changes in location, program offerings, or accreditation during its 
registration term must request that the commission approve a registration amendment. The school shall 
submit its amendment request in a format acceptable to the commission. The school’s amendment request 
shall be accompanied by a $1,000 amendment fee payable to the state of Iowa. This fee is nonrefundable 
regardless of the commission’s decision with respect to the school’s registration amendment request. 
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The recommended change specifically revises 283—21.13 which describes fees required under 
the registration process.  If approved, the following fees would be imposed on colleges 
registering under the Commission: 
 

 Required Registration under 261B – Out‐of‐state schools and Iowa schools not exempt 
from registration and not participating in SARA: 

 

Initial Application Fee (one‐time fee) to the 
Commission 

$5,000 

Annual Fee Due to the Commission July 15 of Each 
Year 

$5,000 

 

 Registration under 261G – Iowa schools that choose to participate in SARA: 
 

Annual Fee Due to the Commission July 15 of Each 
Year 

$5,000 

 

 MHEC SARA Fee – Annual fee required by the Midwest Higher Education Compact 
(MHEC) for participation in the State Authorization Reciprocity Agreement (SARA).  Fee 
is based on Full Time Equivalent enrollment at the participating school.  All schools that 
choose to participate in SARA will pay the fee to NC SARA: 

 

Under 2,500 FTE  $2,000 

2,500 to 9,999 FTE  $4,000 

10,000 and more FTE  $6,000 

 
The original proposed language and the revised language are provided on the following page 
along with a paper prepared by staff with additional information.   
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Background Paper Prepared by Commission Staff 
 
The Iowa College Student Aid Commission has proposed rule changes for postsecondary 
registration in Iowa.  These rules address Iowa Code 261B and 261G.   
 
Under the proposed rule, the following fees would be imposed on colleges registering under 
the Commission: 
 

 Required Registration under 261B – Out‐of‐state schools and Iowa schools not exempt 
from registration and not participating in SARA: 

 

Initial Application Fee (one‐time fee) to the 
Commission 

$5,000 

Annual Fee Due to the Commission July 15 of Each 
Year 

$5,000 

 

 Registration under 261G – Iowa schools that choose to participate in SARA: 
 

Annual Fee Due to the Commission July 15 of Each 
Year 

$5,000 

 

 MHEC SARA Fee – Annual fee required by the Midwest Higher Education Compact 
(MHEC) for participation in the State Authorization Reciprocity Agreement (SARA).  Fee 
is based on Full Time Equivalent enrollment at the participating school.  All schools that 
choose to participate in SARA will pay the fee to NC SARA: 

 

Under 2,500 FTE  $2,000 

2,500 to 9,999 FTE  $4,000 

10,000 and more FTE  $6,000 

 
Justification for Proposed Fee Increase: 
 

Commission’s Estimated Administrative Budget for 
Postsecondary Registration 

 
$467,263 

Potential Annual Fees from Iowa SARA Participating 
Schools – 52 schools  

 
$260,000 

Potential Annual Fees from Out‐of‐State Schools 
Required to Register in Iowa – 25 schools 

 
$125,000 

Estimated Operating Budget Deficit  $82,263 
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Iowa Colleges and Universities Projection of Expenditures if Iowa Did Not Participate in SARA: 
 

 
Sector 

Annual Cost 
Estimate 

Community Colleges  $2,200,000 

Independent Colleges and Universities  
  (IAICU 26 Member Institutions) 

 
2,000,000 

Des Moines University  100,000 

Iowa Regent Universities 
  (Not including $300,000 ongoing personnel costs) 

775,000 

Total  $5,075,000 

 
Iowa College Student Aid Commission Responsibilities under Postsecondary Registration: 
 

 Process applications from Iowa colleges and universities.   

 Address student complaints for students with complaints about colleges and universities 
registered in Iowa.  Staff works diligently to assist these students and sees this as a 
priority.  

 Work with the Iowa Attorney General’s Office to address consumer protection issues.  
The Iowa Code’s consumer protection language requires colleges and universities to 
provide the Commission with evidence of financial responsibility and information about 
tuition refund policies.   
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Original Fee Language Passed by Commission – July 2015 

283—21.9(261B) 283—21.13(261B, 261G)  Registration fees. 
 21.9(1) 21.13(1)  A school that applies for registration in Iowa under this chapter shall remit to the 
commission a $1,000 registration application fee payable to the state of Iowa commission in the amount of 
one-half of the biennial fees listed in subrule 21.13(4). This fee is nonrefundable regardless of the 
commission’s decision with respect to the school’s eligibility for registration in Iowa. The commission 
assesses this fee at the time the school initially applies for registration and at the time of each subsequent 
registration renewal application. A school that fails to pay the registration application fee shall be denied 
registration consideration. 
 21.9(2) 21.13(2)  A school that is approved for registration in Iowa under this chapter shall remit to 
the commission a $1,000 registration maintenance fee payable to the state of Iowa commission in the 
amount of one-half of the biennial fees listed in subrule 21.13(4). The commission assesses the $1,000 
registration maintenance fee at the time the commission initially approves the school’s registration and at 
the time the commission approves each subsequent registration renewal.  This fee is nonrefundable. 
 21.13(3) A school that applies for, and is approved to participate in, the commission-approved  
interstate reciprocity agreement shall remit to the interstate reciprocity agreement administrator any 
registration fees required by that administrator. 
 21.13(4)  A school that applies for and is approved for registration shall pay to the commission the 
following cumulative fee amount, assessed as described in subrules 21.13(1) and 21.13(2), for the initial 
two-year registration term and at the time of each subsequent, biennial registration renewal.  The 
cumulative biennial fee is based on a school’s most recent total, full-time equivalent (FTE) enrollment as 
reported to the Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System at the time of its registration application: 
 a.  Under 2,500 FTE:  $2,000 
 b.  2,500 to 9,999 FTE:  $4,000 
 c.  10,000 to more FTE:  $6,000 
 21.9(3) 21.13(5) A school that makes substantive changes in location, program offerings, or 
accreditation during its registration term must request that the commission approve submits a registration 
amendment request pursuant to subrule 21.3(12). The school shall submit its amendment request in a 
format acceptable to the commission. The school’s amendment request shall be accompanied by a $1,000 
shall remit a $500 amendment fee payable to the state of Iowa commission. This fee is nonrefundable 
regardless of the commission’s decision with respect to the school’s registration amendment request. 
 


