Iowa College Aid Board of Commissioners

Iowa College Aid is governed by a board of commissioners.  As specified by the Iowa statute, they are selected to represent each sector of Iowa higher education as well as lenders, postsecondary students, and the general public.

For Commissioners

Open Meetings Law - Chapter 21 (pdf)

Iowa Administrative Rules - Chapter 283

Iowa Code - Chapter 261 (pdf)

Iowa Code - Chapter 261B (pdf)

Government Ethics and Lobbying - Chapter 68B

Annual Reports

Travel Reimbursement


Iowa College Aid Board of Commissioners

Ms. Janet Adams1, Chair
Represents the General Public
Appt. 06/01/04 -- Term expires 06/30/18
Representative Cecil Dolecheck4
Represents the Iowa House of Representatives
Appt. 04/07/17 -- Term expires 01/13/19
Ms. Crystal Ford1, Vice Chair
Represents Borrowers with Student Loans Guaranteed by the Commission
Appt. 07/01/09 -- Term expires 06/30/17
Mr. Michael Ash1
Represents Iowa Community Colleges
President, Southeastern Community College
Appt. 07/01/13 -- Term expires 06/30/17
Mr. Roger Claypool1
Represents the General Public
Appt. 06/13/12 -- Term expires 06/30/17

Mr. Frederick Moore1
Represents Iowa Independent Colleges and Universities
President, Buena Vista University
Appt. 07/01/07 -- Term expires 06/30/19



Ms. Rachael Johnson2
Represents the State Board of Regents
Regent, Board of Regents, State of Iowa
Appt. 05/01/17 

Senator Herman C. Quirmbach3
Represents the Iowa Senate
Associate professor, Economics, Iowa State University
Appt. 03/04/03 -- Term expires 01/08/17



Mr. Doug Shull1
Represents the General Public
Appt. 07/01/11 -- Term expires 06/30/19
Representative Cindy Winckler4
Represents the Iowa House of Representatives
Appt. 08/01/07 -- Term expires 01/13/19
Senator Jeff Edler3
Represents the Iowa Senate
Appt. 03/08/17 -- Term Expires 01/13/19
Ms. Amy Brace1
Represents Iowa Postsecondary Students
Appt. 08/06/15 -- Term expires 06/30/18
Mr. Jeremy Varner
Represents the Iowa Department of Education
Division Administrator, Division of Community Colleges
Iowa Department of Education
Appt. -- Serves as the designee of the director of the Department of Education
Ms. Karolyn Wells1
Represents Iowa Lending Institutions
President/CEO EdCo Community Credit Union
Appt. 11/09/11 -- Term expires 06/30/18

1 Appointed by the Governor
2 Appointed by the Board of Regents

3 Appointed by the President of the Senate
4 Appointed by the Speaker of the House

Printed from the Iowa College Student Aid Commission website on June 24, 2017 at 12:16am.